Redding: Library’s literacy program turning man’s life around

From Redding Searchlight

” A Bay Area transplant has found a new life and a renewed purpose in Redding with help from the Shasta Public Libraries’ Literacy Program.Alonzo Scott, 48, tells an inspiring story that reaches back to his days of drinking and doing cocaine in his small San Francisco room to being tutored by a Foothill High School grad half his age at the Redding Library with the goal of earning his GED diploma.”I was sick and tired of drinking and drugging myself,” Scott said Thursday from his Redding home. “I’m glad I came here. I’ve met a lot of good people and they gave me a chance.”Scott found himself taking a bus to Redding after being notified that, following a four-year wait, his application for Section 8 subsidized housing in the city suddenly had been approved. He stayed at the Good News Rescue Mission until he found a place to rent with his HUD voucher and also spent time at the library, within walking distance from his home.”I started volunteering there (at the library) instead of hanging out outside,” Scott said. “I hit it off with most of the staff”. He said Kayla Menne, the library’s literacy coordinator, asked him one day if he’d be interested in her program. Scott said since he didn’t make it past the ninth grade, he signed up and for two months he’s been attending sessions to earn a high school equivalency diploma.”

http://www.redding.com/story/news/local/2017/08/04/librarys-literacy-program-turning-mans-life-around/534276001/

