Don’t sneer at prison libraries, Chief Justice Roberts

From Chicago Tribune

” Chief Justice John G. Roberts Jr., I’m surprised at you. Didn’t your mother raise you better than to insult whole groups of people? For those who are wondering, I’m talking about a remark the chief justice made last month during oral arguments in Bruce v. Samuels, a dispute about federal prisoners paying legal fees. Here I quote from Amy Howe of SCOTUSblog: When reminded that prisons maintain libraries, “Roberts then shot back, presumably sarcastically, ‘I’m sure they are very good libraries too.’” I run a library at a state prison for men in California, and I can attest that it is indeed a “very good library.”

http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/opinion/commentary/ct-prison-libraries-chief-justice-john-roberts-20151218-story.html

