Read Santa Clara shapes lives through literacy development

from the Santa Clara Weekly

“For the last six years, ReJoyce Ross has been a learner at Read Santa Clara, the city library’s free literacy program.’What made me come here was that I was cleaning a lady’s house and her husband was there,’ Ross says. ‘I was supposed to pull out a special cleaner from under the cabinet, and I didn’t know how to find it because I didn’t know how to spell it or read it…The husband asked me if I had trouble reading. I said I did, and he said it was nothing to be ashamed of, that there was a place that can help me, and that was the library. That was the beginning of my journey. When I started, I was at the second-grade level of reading.’

http://www.santaclaraweekly.com/2015/Issue-13/read_santa_clara_shapes_lives_through_literacy_development.html

